“A Day in the Life as a Postgrad: Balancing Work, Study, and Personal Time”

By Shauna McElligott 

The preconceptions of a postgraduate degree can be intimidating and naturally enforce the idea that longer days and more challenging amounts of coursework can remove any chance for a social and personal life.  However, after trial and error, I have now “mastered” the balance of postgrad life while achieving my master’s degree! I hope by sharing simple ways in how to make time for yourself and not fall behind in your coursework, you can have a well-rounded postgraduate experience that is stress free and enjoyable. 

Coffee First, Panic Later

Like most students, my day begins and continues with coffee. There are multiple spots on campus to choose from for your energy pit stops. My favourite spot (along with the rest of the University’s) is the one and only Smokey’s Café. If you have a sweet tooth like me, Smokey’s provides the perfect sugary treats and beverages to keep you energised for the busy schedule of a postgrad.                     For those warmer, sunnier days, Friars supplies the most refreshing iced coffees to keep you cool. Meanwhile, the hotspot, Sult is in possession of the cosiest hot chocolates for the unavoidably colder Galway days. All of campus’s coffee spots are affordable and reasonable in comparison to those of the city. It offers you a chance to converse with friends and get a break from coursework or even provides a time to relax yourself to reground yourself. 

Stretch Your Legs, Rest Your Mind

Unfortunately, as a consequence of being a postgraduate English student, I tend to become glued to my desk reading and writing at times resulting in me becoming rather lazy and inactive. However, as I have settled into my postgraduate degree, it has become a necessity to take a break from the postgrad reading room every now and again. As a newcomer to Galway, I was excited to see the sports facilities available on campus. I enjoyed swimming in my undergraduate and found that in times of stress, a walk or swim would help me to relax. The Kingfisher Fitness Club possessed the perfect pool facilities for me. The Kingfisher app also makes booking a session in the gym , pool or even sauna easy and straightforward.  

Clubs, Societies and Connection

As a new postgrad at University of Galway, I was excited to see the clubs and societies available. The countless possibilities definitely allows you to further enhance your areas of interest or dedicate time trying a new hobby. As an English student I naturally wanted to expand opportunities for reading and joined the Book Club. They provide great updates on reading, books and upcoming Literature events. All of the clubs and societies keep social media updated to help you stay connected and informed on all their gatherings. It is essential to create a space for activities outside of the lecture hall                                                                                                                                                 

Timing is Everything 

Naturally, trying to make time for college work and personal time as a postgrad can be intimidating. Like a majority of postgraduate students, my weekends are occupied with working part time, therefore leaving little time for myself to relax and unwind or to even tackle assignments! My last tip is to actively consider how you are spending your time and the best way to organise it. This could be as simple as listening to an audiobook while you carry out more mundane tasks such as laundry and grocery shopping. Overall, the best tip for postgrad life I can supply is to know which times you are most productive and take advantage of it.

The future is happening now, so have fun!

The only way to learn how to balance your life as a postgrad is to truly try and experience different opportunities. My fear after completing my undergrad degree was that all the fun and excitement had disappeared as the seriousness of postgraduate life loomed ahead. A postgraduate degree is more than just the next step of your education. It is also the next chapter of your life. Once you have arrived on the University of Galway campus as an official postgrad you are far more equipped for the next chapter than you realise. The key is not to be so hard on yourself and take it too seriously! Keep having fun and making the most of each moment.